Important things to understand before closing your account
- Redeem any Reward Points before you request to close your account, otherwise they will be forfeited (including points earned in the current statement period). Log into the MyCard App or MyCard Online to check your points balance and redeem now.
- Cancel any recurring payments you have set up.
- If you have disputed any transactions on your account and any of these investigations are still pending, you can still submit an account closure request, but your account will not be fully closed until these dispute investigations are finalised.
- Once you have submitted your request to close your account, we will not be able to reactivate your account.
- If you have a credit balance on your account, we will transfer the amount to the account you have nominated via Electronic Funds Transfer (after the date of your next statement). Please contact us if you haven’t nominated an account.
- We will continue to send you statements until your account balance is $0 and remains $0 for one additional statement cycle. If you retrieve your statements electronically, we will continue to send you notifications when your statement is available in MyCard Online.
- You will continue to see your closed account in the MyCard App and Online for at least 60 days after. This is so you can still access your transaction and payment history and statement copies.
Steps to close your MyCard account
Follow these instructions to close your credit card account.
- Log in to the MyCard App or MyCard Online
- Select the account to be closed
- Select Account details
- Go to Manage my accounts
- Select Close account.
Alternatively, contact us on 13 24 84 (or +61 2 8225 0615 if calling from overseas).
Don’t have the MyCard App?
Download the MyCard App today for a more convenient banking experience.
Other helpful guides
Explore these other helpful topics that might interest you.